The Declutter Project

Hey there! It has been about a month since I have had two seconds to sit down and write. One of my biggest goals for 2017 was to become more frequent with my blog posts, and clearly I am failing miserably. At least the year is still young.

Speaking of goals, Keith and I have been chatting a lot lately about our goals. Getting out of debt, saving for a house, and getting rid of a lot of our material things are the three big ones that keep being brought up. I had dabbled in Youtube videos about minimalism and have a few minimalism blogs that I follow, but never took the plunge because the idea terrified me. Growing up, my parents were pack rats. After my sister got married and moved out of our house, her bedroom became a breeding ground for everything that didn’t have a home. There were piles of boxes taller than I was. It wasn’t until I was 16 and we moved out of the only place that I had ever called “home” that I realized how much junk we truly had. The basement was also filled to the brim, as well as the staircase leading down to it.

When I finally moved out with Keith and his sister when I was 20, I was determined to not live a similar life. But old habits die hard, and here I am 10 years later with a house full of crap. One of our biggest fights is about all of the clutter, and we are sick of it.

Here are some of my favorite blog posts about decluttering:
1. The Welder’s Wife 2017 Decluttering Challenge
2. Recipe For A Sweet Life’s Capsule Wardrobe Closet Rehab
3. The Welder’s Wife Benefits to Becoming a Minimalist
4. Living In Color Blog’s Capsule Wardrobe Challenge
5. Magnolia Moon’s 60 Things To Toss In 60 Days
6. My Love for Words’ Guide to Decluttering with Kids

I feel that this new venture will not only free up our house and minds of clutter, but it will also help us to save money. After working so hard to get the clutter out of our lives, I feel that I will no longer want to go through Target and put unneeded items in my cart. I look forward to seeing where this takes us, and of course I will share my progress area by area here on the blog (as long as ya’ll promise not to judge me haha).

While this may not be a “minimalistic” approach like I had originally planned when I first started thinking about this new project, I definitely feel that we are heading in the right direction. Living off of the bare minimum is not for my family, though I do understand it’s benefits and fully support anybody who is able to. Eventually, maybe we will get to this point when the kids are older. But that time is not now. However, I know that changes need to happen so that we can all be happier. When we finally do save up for our first house, I don’t want to pack a bunch of crap that we don’t even use.  I know that my kids play in the playroom more when everything has a home and it is more organized. I know how I feel at the end of a long night at work coming home to a spotless house. So why hasn’t this effort been a priority?

ThreeKidsDeclutteringIntro
{toy photo via I Heart Naptime}

Have you gone through a large decluttering process? What was it like, and how did you feel afterwards?

3 thoughts on “The Declutter Project

  1. I totally need to declutter and have been getting rid of so much stuff! We were those people that moved a TON of crap from one house to another when we moved. Such a waste of time and hassle. You’ll be so glad you did this before you moved!

    Like

Leave a Reply

