ROAR! Addie is 4!

I can’t believe my squishy little Valentine is already four years old. It seems like just yesterday I almost had a heart attack on the operating table when my sweet baby, who was 2 weeks early, was 8 1/2 lbs. I had only gained about 25 pounds my whole pregnancy and was expecting a tiny little nugget.

Four years later, she is our spunky middle child. She knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to ask for it. She is girly with a splash of tomboy, which is why I wasn’t surprised when she asked for a dinosaur birthday party this year. I had a lot of fun planning what is typically a “boy theme” and adding a spin on it to make it more “Addie”. I started with her favorite colors and took it from there!

dinopin

Here she is, my Addie Grace! She had so much fun at her party with all of her friends. We somehow crammed about 40 people into our house. I think next year we will focus on finding a place to host us!

1

My super talented niece made Addie’s cake and cupcakes! How precious are they? The cake was funfetti with a strawberry mascarpone filling and it was amazing. I wish that there was some left over so I could have indulged later when Keith was out with the guys, but it went super fast.

23

If you are ever invited to a party at our house, you know that you will find my famous sugar cookies there! I make them for every party and find a way to make them match the theme. I had a more detailed cookie in mind, but with all of the extremities, these things were a pain to just frost and I was short on time since I was bedridden for the whole week and a half prior to the party, so these plain ones sufficed.

4

5

I couldn’t really find a girly dinosaur balloon, but knew this guy would do the trick when paired with a few bright colored balloons.

7

These dinosaur party hats were so simple to put together! I bought some plain colored hats and freehanded some dino spikes on card stock paper, then superglued them at the seam of the hat. They were a huge hit with the kids!

8910

My other two little loves:

1413

I like to do my parties around 2:00 so that we can serve some light snacks to hold people over between lunch and dinner. We snacked on bugles (aka “dinosaur claws”), cheese and crackers, chips and dip, animal crackers, fruit, and veggies.

I had a lot of fun with this party. Now that it’s behind us, I have to start thinking about the 3 in a row I need to plan between May and July, starting with Brady’s! I already have a theme in mind and can’t wait to get started.

What is your favorite party theme that you have planned?

Leave a Reply

