30

Last weekend, I celebrated my 30th birthday! It’s so weird knowing that my 20s are officially behind me and that I have been on this earth for three decades. Keith really went above and beyond!

30th1

On Saturday, he planned a night out to have drinks and dinner with my friends. I took the kid’s to Brady’s bff’s birthday party earlier in the day and Keith took the kids home while I stayed and got ready with Ashley. Her sister spent a solid hour doing my hair and makeup and I felt like a million bucks! We went to a Mexican restaurant and had way too many margaritas, and awesome cupcakes that had white chocolate truffles in the middle.

30th4getting ready with Ashley!

30th
the two best friends a girl could ask for

30th2

30th6
rachel & i have been joined at the hip since we were 10. not only did both celebrate our 30th birthdays within 2 weeks of each other, we also celebrate 20 years of friendship this year!!

30th3
incredible Legend of Zelda cupcakes that my super-talented niece made. I am
obsessed with this video game.

30th530th8
i got home and into my pjs before realizing that i didn’t get a single photo
with Keith while we were out. woops. ūüė¶

Surprisingly, I woke up Sunday morning feeling amazing. Which was good, because Keith planned brunch with my family! I wish the photo that the waiter took of our whole family came out better, but ah well. We went to a brunch buffet and filled ourselves up on bacon, waffles, eggs benedict, prime rib, fruit, and lots of sweets. I overstuffed myself and wasn’t feeling so incredible after that haha

30th930th10

The rest of the night we just hung out. My actual birthday was Monday. Keith had to work, but Aubrey was off from school because of Martin Luther King day so at least I got to sleep in a little longer until Brady woke up! I slipped into this awesome shirt and went about my day. Addie had OT and PT, so I took Brady and Aubrey to the mall to kill some time. We got smoothies and walked around a bit until it was time to pick Addie up.

30th11

I got home to the sweetest package in front of my door from Edible Arrangements! I automatically assumed it was from Keith (even though he totally spoiled me with an incredible weekend PLUS a sewing machine and didn’t kill me when I spent $20 on a new bullet journal haha), but it was from Rachel!! She sent some chocolate dipped pineapple that I dove into immediately. So goooood.

30th12

Keith got home and started on dinner. I chose Alice Springs chicken which is our favorite copy cat recipe from Outback Steakhouse! After dinner we had cake and then I had to go food shopping (total buzzkill haha).

30th1330th14

So many people dread turning 30. And honestly, up until a few days before my actual birthday, so did I. It’s the end of the “partying era” that is the 20’s. But let’s be honest. I didn’t have much of a “20’s”. I got married and had my first baby when I was barely 22 years old, and while I did get some amazing nights out from 21 to 29, for the most part I was a homebody. And I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way!¬†Starting a family was always my biggest dream when I was a little girl. While a lot of people don’t start that until they hit their 30’s, I am already almost a decade in. To me, turning 30 kind of just kicked my ass into wanting to be¬†more responsible with money, cleaning my house more and getting rid of a bunch of clutter, and becoming a crazy cat lady. I have big plans for the next 10 years and I can’t wait to see where this decade brings me!

With that, I will leave you with some lyrics from one of my favorites, Tim McGraw.

I think I’ll take a moment, celebrate my age
End of an era and the turning of a page
Now it’s time to focus in on where I go from here
Lord have mercy on my next thirty years
In my next thirty years I’m gonna have some fun
Try to forget about all the crazy things I’ve done
Maybe now I’ve conquered all my adolescent fears
And I’ll do it better in my next thirty years
My next thirty years, I’m gonna settle all the scores
Cry a little less, laugh a little more
Find a world of happiness without the hate and fear
Figure out just what I’m doing here in my next thirty years
Did/do you dread turning the big “dirty 30”?
4 thoughts on “30

Leave a Reply

